The Black Pearl has become a New England institution, being born from a 1920’s sail loft shop of old Newport. Thomas D. Cullen took ownership of the restaurant in 1974 from its founder, Barclay Warburton III whose passion as a yachtsman still lives on in its brigantine atmosphere. The Cullen family has been dedicated to protecting the historic traditions of community and hospitality ever since.
The Black Pearl has seen continuous renovations, most recently with its newly designed Commodore’s Room with an inviting Parisian Bar that beseeches for private parties and elegant evenings. We have also refurbished the Restrooms, and redesigned The Patio that greatly enriches the al fresco experience - all the while jealously guarding the historic charm that will remain forever unchanged.